Am I turning over a new leaf?

During the past few weeks, my blogs have basically been all about me complaining about how computers and technology really tick me off.  There was “Is this an elimination game?” – about wondering – what will be next and how will they top their last innovation.  In my post titled “Frustration”, i mention all the sites that need you to become a member and the time it takes to type out this information.  In both “Frustration” and my last post “Why I hate my computer on Fridays” I talk about some of the stuff that our class is taught in Thursday evenings class on the iMac.  By the time I get home to use my PC, I  a) can’t remember all the options we talked about and b) have no clue where to access some of the options because of the differences between my computer and the iMac.
But not today.  Not in this post.  Only positives.  Let’s talk about how my wife and I used our computer over the weekend and we lived to smile about it.
To start with, this past weekend is what a lot of golf fans consider the opening of golf season, because of The Masters.  With CBS having to show e-v-e-r-y  s-i-n-g-l-e  shot by Tiger Woods, some of the other golfers go unnoticed for the week.  One of my wife’s favorite golfers, Mike Weir finished 17th (+2), and I never saw him at all this past weekend.  Each year, my friend and I get into a “Masters Pool”.  We pick 5 golfers and essentially the person with the best score from their top 3 golfers wins the pot.  Well Saturday evening, I was wondering how some of us were doing.  I jumped on my computer (not literally) and started jotting down all the scores for the golfers chosen.  I didn’t finish that well this year.  It was another $5 donation on my part. 
Again, going back to an old blog posting, “HIGH FIVE”, I spoke of my wife searching for baby furniture and car seats.  She swears by Consumer Reports.  Of course the stuff for the baby is so very important, but now she looking at some vacuum cleaner which I had never heard of, but it’s rated higher than a Dyson.  And I’m NOT a vacuuming type of guy, and I’ve used a Dyson before and it was… well… an unbelievable piece of machinery.  
Amizon and Ebayare other sites I enjoy and have purchased things from recently.  Amizon is working with Pepsi-Cola right now.  The pop caps have codes under the lid.  I’ve entered some codes and ended up ordering the shirt attached to the amizon link.  I recently purchased the item shown attached to the Ebay link as well.  These sites, like many others make my life a whole lot easier come the holiday time.  I am one of those people who really dislikes shopping around the holidays.  Too many people, never a place to park, that person you knew from high school that wants to talk to you – even though you never talked to them in high school.  It’s so much easier to just “Click Here” to purchase.
Finally to talk about something to do with education.  Doing this Power Point project shows me that I was diffidently born way too early.  Steve and I have devised a Jeopardy game for 1st or 2nd grade Mathematics.  Answers linked to questions, different colors.  It’s so much more entertaining that a “ditto”.  Not hat I had troubles with Math, but if I had a teacher that would have done something like this for my other subjects, I would have had an easier time with school. 
It’s amazing to see the the advances we have made.  And it feels good to have a more positive attitude towards technology.  I’m sure I’ll get frustrated again, but I have to remember the “good times” we have with the computer.

~ L8r

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Am I turning over a new leaf?

  1. nureles

    I know what you mean about turning over a new leaf – spring is definitely in the air, because I’m finally seeing some signs of new growth. The first, hmmm, 10 times I wrote my blog I agonized over it. What do I write, how will I ever apply or remember any of this?! I actually find that it’s beginning to filter in, albeit slowly, that technology is my friend. The blog writing is easier. I feel like I actually have something to share, instead of just complaining about being confused. Creating hyperlinks now is like breathing in and out. A few months ago I didn’t even know what one even was, much less how to do it. Gray skies are clearing up – good times are ahead.

  2. Stephen Ransom

    Learning new things always stretches one, doesn’t it? If it doesn’t, we need to consider the “challenges” that we take on. We make it over one hurdle, feel a sense of accomplishment, and then realize there is another… and another piece to learning toward the horizon. Take it in small bits, but never stop learning. It’s a tall order, but so satisfying.

Leave a comment